Expeditions and Technology Development

PRAGMA forges collaborative, multidisciplinary teams to address scientific questions of high societal impact. These scientific questions define and drive PRAGMA's technology development.

There are three current expeditions:

  • Limnology: Predicting lake eutrophication and training the next generation of lake scientists;
       Paul Hanson (U. Wisc), Cayelan Carey (Virginia Tech) and Renato Figueiredo (U. Florida)
  • Biodiversity: Understanding adaption in extreme environments;
       Aimee Stewart (U. Kansas) and Nadya Williams (UCSD)
  • ENT: Developing an experimental network testbed for experimenting with software-defined networks and monitoring impacts of choices.
       Kohei Ichikawa, (NAIST), Matt Collins (U. Florida)

Technology Development:

  • Creating a multi-cloud environment through application-based migration experiments
       Hsiu-Mei Chou (NCHC) and Nadya Williams (UCSD)
  • Building a PRAGMA Data Cloud through data sharing, provenance, data valuation and evolution experiments
       Beth Plale (Indiana U)
  • Developing a trust envelope for collaboration through software-defined overlay networks and experiments with IPv6;
       Jose Fortes and Renato Figueriedo (U Florida), Kohei Ichikawa, (NAIST)
         Weicheng Huang (NCHC)

Working Groups

RESOURCES: Working to make the distributed resources of PRAGMA useful to diverse applications. Co-leaders: Yoshio Tanaka (AIST) and Phil Papadopoulos (UCSD)

TELESCIENCE: Making and improving access to or use of remote equipment (e.g., tiled-diplay walls or sensors). Co-leaders: Shinji Shimojo (NICT and Osaka U) and Fang-Pang Lin (NCHC)

BIOSCIENCES: Creating stable infrastructure to perform computational genomics analyses with a focus on rice breeding and integrating technologies to create an infrastructure to advance the screening of potential compounds to combat infectious diseases. Leader: Jason Haga (AIST)

CYBERLEARNING: Developing simulation-based learning technology. Leader: Ruth Lee (KISTI)


PRAGMA is led by a Steering Committee, which operate according to the Operating Principles and Procedures document, which all PRAGMA members agree to abide by. The Steering Committee sets direction, reviews membership applications and proposals to host PRAGMA workshops.

Steering Committee
David Abramson - University of Queensland
Peter Arzberger - University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
Kum Won Cho - Korea Institute for Science and Technology Information (KISTI)
Susumu Date - Osaka University
Renato Figueiredo - University of Florida
Jose Fortes - University of Florida
Kazutoshi Fujikawa - Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)
Jason Haga - Senior Research Scientist, Cyberphysical Cloud Research Group, Information Technology Research Institute, AIST
Nurul Hashimah Ahamed Hassain Malim - Senior Lecturer, School of Computer
Weicheng Huang - Research Fellow, Division Director of Software Technology Division, NCHC Sciences, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
Kohei Ichikawa - Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)
Wing Keung Kwan - University of Hong Kong
Jongsuk (Ruth) Lee - Principal Researcher, National Supercomputing Division, Korea Institute of Science and Technology Info
Fang-Pang Lin - National Center for High-performance Computing (NCHC) Science and Technology, Thammasat University
Beth Plale - Indiana University
Wanida Putthividhya - Thammasat University
Prapaporn Rattanatamrong - Thammasat University
Satoshi Sekiguchi - National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Shinji Shimojo - Osaka University
Shava Smallen - Interim Chair, PRAGMA Steering Committee; Resources Working Group
Heru Suhartanto - Universitas Indonesia
Yoshio Tanaka - National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Jelina Tanya H. Tetangco - Advanced Science and Technology Institute (DOST-ASTI)
Putchong Uthayopas - Kasetsart University
Habibah Wahab - Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
Wassapon (Boom) Watanakeesuntorn - Ph.D. Student at Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)

NSF PRAGMA Award Investigators
Cayelan Carey - Virginia Tech
Renato Figueiredo - University of Florida
Jose Fortes - University of Florida
Paul Hanson - University of Wisconsin
Phil Papadopoulos - University of California, San Diego
Beth Plale - Indiana University
Aimee Stewart - University of Kansas

PRAGMA Students Leads
Meilan Jiang - Konkuk University
Chawanat Nakasan - Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)
Pongsakorn U-chupala - Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)
Gabriel Zhou - Indiana University

PRAGMA Program Manager
Teri Simas - University of California, San Diego